Ding Ning Withdraws, Liu Shiwen Lined Up for Record-Breaking Opportunity

Following the withdrawal of Ding Ning from the 2017 Uncle Pop Women's World Cup came the announcement that she would be replaced by China's Liu Shiwen. Liu was a finalist at this year's Asian Cup – losing out to Zhu Yuling who now becomes top seed for the World Cup.

The inclusion of Liu Shiwen not only gives her the chance to win another major title but also a shot at creating a new record. Liu is one of 3 female players to win an amazing 4 World Cup titles since it's debut in 1996. She stands proudly alongside the legendary Grand Slam Champion Zhang Yining and one of her biggest rivals Wang Nan.

Should Liu Shiwen win in Markham, Canada, she would become the first player – man or woman, to win a historic 5 world cup singles titles, cementing her legacy into history.

It will not be without challenge however, just weeks ago at the 2017 ITTF Asian Cup she was defeated in the 7th game by Zhu Yuling in a battle of epic proportions. To see a rematch in the World Cup final would be a spectacle indeed.

Liu has been one of the leading players in the Chinese National Team for many years, having won gold or silver in the Women's Singles at 7 out of the last 8 Asian Cup events. The Chinese star has also won many titles in the Asian Games and Championships and has performed strongly at the World Table Tennis Championships, though she has never won the big title there.

Fans of Liu Shiwen will be thrilled to see her included in a lineup which promises an incredible level of action and competition. Downtown Markham, Canada, could be the very spot where history is made in the sport of table tennis. Can Liu Shiwen bring her best form and become the best of all World Cup Champions?

Tickets are selling fast, get yours today at:

https://ticket.2017wwc.com

Ding Ning se retire, une opportunité record pour Liu Shiwen

Suite à la nouvelle que Ding Ning se retirait de la Coupe du Monde des Femmes Uncle Pop 2017, l’annonce est sortie que la chinoise Liu Shiwen allait être la remplaçante. Liu était finaliste à la Coupe d’Asie de cette année – perdant la finale contre Zhu Yuling qui devient maintenant la première favorite de la Coupe du Monde.  

L’inclusion de Liu Shiwen lui donne non seulement une chance à empocher un autre titre majeur, mais également une chance à établir un nouveau record. Liu est une de 3 joueuses à remporter un incroyable 4 titres de la Coupe du Monde depuis son inauguration en 1996. Elle se pose fièrement au côté de la légendaire championne du Grand Slam Zhang Yining et sa plus grande rivale, Wang Nan.

Si Liu Shiwen gagne la Coupe à Markham, Canada, elle deviendrait la première athlète – homme ou femme – de remporter un record historique de 5 titres de la Coupe du Monde, cimentant donc son héritage dans l’histoire du tennis de table.

Cette quête ne sera par contre pas sans défi. Quelques semaines passées à la Coupe d’Asie elle a perdu une bataille incroyable de 7 manches contre Zhu Yuling. De voir une performance revanche à Markham serait un spectacle assuré!

Liu a été l'un des principaux acteurs de l'équipe nationale chinoise pendant de nombreuses années, ayant remporté l'or ou l'argent dans les Simples Féminins à 7 des 8 derniers événements de la Coupe d'Asie. L'étoile chinoise a également remporté de nombreux titres dans les Jeux et les Championnats d'Asie et a enregistré des performances incroyables au Championnat du Monde de tennis de table, mais elle n'a jamais remporté le grand titre.

Les fans de Liu Shiwen seront ravis de voir sont inclusions dans la liste de joueuses qui promet un incroyable niveau d’action et de compétition. Markham pourrait bel et bien être l’endroit où l’histoire est faite en tennis de table. Est-ce que Liu Shiwen apportera sa meilleure forme afin de devenir la meilleure dans les Championnes de la Coupe du Monde des Femmes?

Les billets se vendent rapidement, procurez-vous les vôtres ici:

https://ticket.2017wwc.com